Training with ROUVY

Is ROUVY owned by Zwift? What the April 2026 acquisition actually changed

Yes. Zwift completed its acquisition of ROUVY on April 29, 2026, and the deal included FulGaz, the real-video platform ROUVY had bought earlier [Zwift Newsroom 2026, DC Rainmaker 2026]. Financial terms were not disclosed. Nothing in your ROUVY account changed that day: the subscription, the routes and the app all carried on, Petr Samek stayed CEO, and the two apps remain separate today. Here is what was announced, what has actually shipped in the four and a half months since, and what neither company has said.

By Jim Camut · Former pro & ex-Bruyneel Academy racer

Updated Sep 17, 20264 chapters7 citations

01 / 04

What Zwift announced on April 29

Zwift said it had completed the strategic acquisition of ROUVY. Its own release states that both Zwift and ROUVY will continue to operate independently, with differentiated roadmaps and subscription packages, and that additional terms of the deal were not disclosed [Zwift Newsroom 2026]. That is the whole official change.

The mechanics are simple. Zwift bought the Czech company behind ROUVY, whose product is real video of real roads rather than a virtual world. FulGaz, a second real-video app that ROUVY had acquired before the deal, came with it [DC Rainmaker 2026]. No price was published. Zwift's release quotes co-founder and CEO Eric Min saying the company has a huge amount of respect for what ROUVY has achieved, and ROUVY founder Petr Samek calling the deal a strong validation of what his team and community built [Zwift Newsroom 2026].

ROUVY published its own article the same day, and it remains the most specific document either company has released. It opens with 'ROUVY stays ROUVY. We will continue to operate as a standalone app and brand, with everything you know and love remaining in place.' It then states that your current subscription remains active as is, including loyalty discounts and pausing, that 'Petr Samek remains CEO, and the ROUVY team stays in place', and that 'There are no plans for any ROUVY and Zwift subscription bundles' [ROUVY Acquisition 2026]. Under the heading asking what about Zwift, the answer is three lines: no merging of apps, no combined subscriptions at this time, no changes required from you.

One thing did change on day one, and it was hardware. Zwift confirmed that 'Zwift Ready smart trainers and Zwift Ride smart frames will work with ROUVY' [Zwift Newsroom 2026]. The background is the part most coverage skipped: it was ROUVY that first reverse-engineered Zwift's hardware so the remotes worked in ROUVY at all, because the protocol is Zwift's own rather than an industry standard [DC Rainmaker 2026]. The acquisition brought that work in-house instead of into a dispute.

02 / 04

What has actually changed in the four and a half months since

Three things, all of them small and all of them optional. Zwift hardware became officially supported in ROUVY. An account link appeared that shares experience points and nothing else [ROUVY and Zwift 2026]. And ROUVY shipped a TrainerRoad import in app 4.7.2 [ROUVY Changelog 2026]. Subscriptions, routes and history stayed separate.

The account link went live at the end of August 2026 and it is deliberately shallow. ROUVY's wording is exact: 'Only XP is shared between the two platforms. Your subscriptions, routes, workouts, and activity history stay separate.' You connect it from the Connected Apps tab in the ROUVY web portal, you need an active subscription on both platforms for XP to flow, and 'Connecting the accounts does not give you access to the other platform, and there is no combined or discounted plan for the two' [ROUVY and Zwift 2026]. A ride you complete in ROUVY still does not appear in your Zwift training history.

Zwift hardware support has moved since April, and two ROUVY pages currently describe it differently. At announcement, Zwift Play was excluded, because it does not speak the same protocol as Zwift Click and Zwift Ride [DC Rainmaker 2026]. Today ROUVY's acquisition article says 'Zwift Click, Zwift Ride and Zwift Play all work with ROUVY' and adds that 'Zwift Play needs firmware 2.0.1 or later' [ROUVY Acquisition 2026]. The FAQ on rouvy.com still reads 'Zwift Play is not supported at the moment' [ROUVY FAQ 2026]. We cannot resolve that for you. If you own a Play, update its firmware and try it.

The clearest evidence that ROUVY's roadmap is still its own is what shipped in app 4.7.2: 'TrainerRoad integration: Connect your TrainerRoad and ROUVY accounts to complete workouts on ROUVY' [ROUVY Changelog 2026]. TrainerRoad sells structured training that competes with Zwift's own, and ROUVY opened a door to it four months after the deal closed. ROUVY's public roadmap for January to April 2027 promises to 'Improve week by week with fresh training plans and workouts' [ROUVY Roadmap 2026].

03 / 04

What nobody has said

Every reassurance both companies published is written in the present tense. ROUVY says there are no plans for bundles and no combined subscriptions at this time [ROUVY Acquisition 2026]. Zwift says the two will operate independently with differentiated roadmaps [Zwift Newsroom 2026]. Neither has committed beyond today, and neither has announced a change either.

Read that precisely rather than cynically. A company that had decided to merge two apps would not publish a line saying no merging of apps, and a company planning a bundle next quarter would not print that there are no plans for bundles [ROUVY Acquisition 2026]. These are honest descriptions of the current position. They are also not promises about 2028, and nobody writing about this deal, ourselves included, can tell you what happens then.

The open questions a rider might reasonably have are about pricing and about data. On pricing, consolidation in any market raises the question and it is fair to ask; Zwift has not announced a price rise on either platform. On data, DC Rainmaker asked directly whether completed ROUVY activities would ever feed a Zwift training history, and was told not anytime soon, and that it did not sound like it was on the radar [DC Rainmaker 2026]. Four months later the account link that shipped shares XP only, which is consistent with that answer [ROUVY and Zwift 2026].

One genuine industry effect was flagged at the time and is worth repeating, because it is not about either app's price. ROUVY was the main outside party pushing Zwift's proprietary hardware protocol toward something other companies could use, and that party now sits inside the company [DC Rainmaker 2026]. The same coverage reads the deal as largely good for ROUVY riders, who get proper support for Zwift Cog trainers and smart bikes instead of a reverse-engineered approximation.

04 / 04

What a ROUVY rider should actually do

Nothing, in almost every case. Your subscription, your routes, your workout history and your login are unchanged, and ROUVY states plainly that no changes are required from you [ROUVY Acquisition 2026]. There are exactly two optional actions worth knowing about, and both take a few minutes.

The first is the account link, and only if you pay for both platforms. It shares XP toward your ROUVY Career and your Zwift level, and nothing else [ROUVY and Zwift 2026]. The second is firmware. If you own Zwift Click, Zwift Ride or Zwift Play, update the ROUVY app first, and for a Play update the remote to firmware 2.0.1 or later in the Zwift Companion app, because an older firmware is simply not recognized [ROUVY Acquisition 2026].

Beyond that, training with ROUVY is the same job for a self-coached cyclist that it was in April. ROUVY decides how a session feels. Something upstream still has to decide what the session is, which is what our guide to training with ROUVY works through, along with whether its coach-written training plans fit a real calendar and how ERG mode behaves on a filmed route.

Where we sit is unchanged by the deal, and that is the point worth making. AdaptCycling reads your completed rides from ROUVY, Wahoo, Hammerhead, Polar and intervals.icu, then writes and rebuilds the plan around them, so which company owns which riding platform does not decide what your week looks like. To be clear about the limit: we read rides from ROUVY, we do not send workouts into it.

Common questions

Quick answers

Is ROUVY owned by Zwift?

Yes. Zwift announced the completed acquisition of ROUVY on April 29, 2026, and did not disclose the financial terms [Zwift Newsroom 2026]. The deal included FulGaz, the real-video app ROUVY had acquired before it [DC Rainmaker 2026]. ROUVY continues to run as a standalone app and brand with Petr Samek as CEO [ROUVY Acquisition 2026].

Did my ROUVY subscription change when Zwift bought it?

No. ROUVY states that your current subscription remains active as is, including loyalty discounts and pausing, and that there are no plans for any ROUVY and Zwift subscription bundles [ROUVY Acquisition 2026]. Zwift's release says both platforms keep differentiated subscription packages [Zwift Newsroom 2026]. Nothing about billing has been announced on either side since April.

Will ROUVY and Zwift merge into one app?

Neither company has said so. ROUVY's article lists no merging of apps as one of three explicit outcomes, alongside no combined subscriptions at this time and no changes required from you [ROUVY Acquisition 2026]. That is a statement about the present rather than a guarantee about future years, and no merge has appeared in any product release since.

What do I get if I connect my ROUVY and Zwift accounts?

Experience points, and only experience points. ROUVY's wording is that only XP is shared between the two platforms, and that your subscriptions, routes, workouts and activity history stay separate [ROUVY and Zwift 2026]. You need an active subscription on both for it to work, and connecting gives you no access to the other platform and no discount.

Do Zwift Click, Zwift Ride and Zwift Play work in ROUVY?

Click and Ride do. Zwift Play is where ROUVY's own pages disagree: the acquisition article says all three work and that Play needs firmware 2.0.1 or later [ROUVY Acquisition 2026], while the FAQ on rouvy.com says Zwift Play is not supported at the moment [ROUVY FAQ 2026]. The support article is the more recently updated page, so update the remote firmware and test it yourself.
References

Sources cited in this guide

  1. 01
  2. 02
    ROUVY Acquisition 2026. ROUVY has been acquired by Zwift. ROUVY Support.
  3. 03
    ROUVY and Zwift 2026. ROUVY and Zwift. ROUVY Support.
  4. 04
  5. 05
    ROUVY Changelog 2026. ROUVY Changelog: version 4.7.2. ROUVY Support.
  6. 06
    ROUVY Roadmap 2026. Coming soon on ROUVY. ROUVY.
  7. 07
In this series

More inside Training with ROUVY

Start here · Foundational guide

Training with ROUVY: a self-coached cyclist's guide

ROUVY runs structured workouts properly and decides almost nothing. What its plans cover, where they stop, and how to train around them.

Read the full guide

Other articles in this series

  1. 01

    Are ROUVY's training plans any good?

    Coach-written, four to six weeks, included in the subscription. What they do well, and the one thing they do not do after a bad week.

  2. 02

    Training on ROUVY without a power meter

    ROUVY scores training load best from power. How to train and progress on heart rate alone, and what the ledger loses when you do.

  3. 03

    How to import a workout into ROUVY

    ROUVY accepts .zwo, .erg and .mrc and nothing else. The three ways a session gets in, and why the file sometimes lands wrong.

  4. 04

    ROUVY ERG mode on routes: what the gradient does

    Inside a structured workout with ERG off, ROUVY simulates a flat 1% and the filmed climb stops setting resistance. Why that surprises riders.

  5. 05

    Which ROUVY FTP test should you take?

    Ramp or twenty minutes, what each one costs you, how often to repeat it, and what to do when the number comes back lower.

Free training analysis · No card · ~3 minutes

Try the adaptive coach yourself.

Connect your rides and the coach reads your last eight weeks — intensity balance, ramp rate, what's working, what's holding you back — then drafts your training plan around it.

Free 14-day trial, no card.